Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124

How to add and remove people from Instagram groups

Instagram groups are a convenient way to message many people at once. However, there are also many reasons why you might need to remove people from the group. Maybe you’re not in touch anymore, or they don’t use their Instagram DMs as often anymore.

Whatever the reason, there are several ways to add or remove someone from an Instagram group. Read on to find out how to add and remove people from Instagram groups using different devices.

How to Add or Remove Someone from an Instagram Group on an iPhone

After creating group chats on Instagram, you may have forgotten to add someone. Fortunately, you can easily add up to 35 people to an Instagram group chat. As long as your group has three or more users, you can freely add anyone you want. Here’s how to do it using the iPhone app:

  1. In the top right corner of the Feed, tap the icon that opens Instagram DMs. It usually looks like a paper airplane.
  2. Select the chat you want to add participants to.
  3. At the top, tap the group name.
  4. Next to Members, tap “Add People.”
  5. Locate and choose the people you want to add, and then click “Next.”
  6. Click on “Add”.

It’s just as easy to remove people from Instagram groups as it is to add them. Follow these steps if you’re using an iPhone:

  1. Open the Instagram app and navigate to the Feed page.
  2. To access your direct messages from the Feed page, tap the paper plane symbol in the top right corner.
  3. In your list of direct messages, locate the group chat. In the event that the group chat has been down for an extended period, you may need to scroll through your list of direct messages to locate it. If not, you can use the search box and type in the name of the group.
  4. Open the chat by tapping on it once you’ve located it.
  5. To view group information, tap the navigation bar at the top, which shows some usernames. These are the usernames of the group members.
  6. Locate the person you want to remove from the group chat and click on the three dots symbol.
  7. Look for the “Remove from group” option and click on it.

This is only possible when you are the group administrator. After tapping on the three horizontal dots, Instagram will present you with five options: Block, Report, Restrict, Remove from group, and Make you an admin. If you are a member, you will be presented with only three possibilities when you touch the three horizontal dots: Block, Restrict, and Report. You will not be able to delete any user.

If you want to remove people from the group chat as a member, you must first request admin status from the group owner. Otherwise, you will need to send a message directly to the administrator to request its removal.

How to Add or Remove Someone from an Instagram Group on Android

The Instagram Android app is quite similar to the iOS version. So the steps to add and remove people from Instagram groups are also similar. Here’s how to add people to Instagram groups using the Android app:

  1. In the top right corner of the Feed, hit the Instagram DM symbol. It usually resembles a speech bubble with a lightning bolt in the center.
  2. Navigate to the chat you’d like to invite people to.
  3. Tap the group name at the top.
  4. Select “Add People” next to Members.
  5. Locate and choose the people you want to add, then click “Done.”
  6. Press “OK”.

If you want to remove someone from an Instagram group using an Android device, here’s how to do it:

  1. Launch the Instagram app and go to the Feed page.
  2. From the Feed page, tap the DM icon in the top right corner of your screen to view your direct messages.
  3. Locate the group chat in your direct message list. If the group chat has been down for a long period of time, you may need to look it up in your direct messages. Alternatively, you can search for the group name using the search box at the top (if applicable).
  4. Once you’ve identified the group chat, tap on it to open it.
  5. To read information about the group, press on the navigation bar, displaying some usernames. These are the usernames of the group members.
  6. Locate and click the three horizontal dots symbol next to the username of the person you want to remove from the group chat.
  7. Find and click the “Remove from group” option.

Again, this is only feasible when you are the group admin. You’ll also see the five options mentioned above if you’re the group admin. If you are a member, clicking on the three horizontal dots will only give you three options.

To remove members from a group chat while remaining a member, you must first obtain admin status from the group owner. Otherwise, you must send a direct message to an administrator requesting the removal of the user.

How to Add or Remove Someone from an Instagram Group on PC

Instagram also allows you to add or remove people from groups using a web browser. You can do it from any PC. Here’s how to add people to groups using a PC:

  1. Open Instagram using your web browser and log in to your Instagram account.
  2. In the top right corner of the Feed, click the Instagram DM sign. It is usually in the form of a speech bubble with a central lightning bolt or a paper airplane.
  3. Navigate to the chat room you want to invite participants to.
  4. At the top, tap the group name.
  5. Next to Members, click “Add People.”
  6. Locate and choose the people to be added, then click “Next.”

Here’s how to remove people from Instagram groups using a PC:

  1. Using your browser, log in to your Instagram account.
  2. Locate the group chat you want to remove members from.
  3. In the upper right corner of the conversation, click the information symbol.
  4. Locate the user you want to remove.
  5. To access the user’s profile, click on the three vertical dots next to the user’s name.
  6. Select “Remove from group” from the menu.

Have control over your Instagram groups

By knowing how to add and remove people from Instagram groups, you can control who sees the messages and media shared in the group. It is no longer possible for someone who has been removed from an Instagram group chat to send or receive messages in the group. However, the person who has been removed from the chat can still access and view all previous conversations and changes.

In the conversation, the user being removed will receive the notification “admin [username] remote [username].” The deleted user will no longer be able to participate in the chat. You can delete the chat by selecting “Delete chat” in the bottom menu of the chat when the person has been removed from the conversation. As a result, the group conversation will be removed from the “Main Chat”.

Do you use Instagram groups? Have you ever added or removed people from a group? Let us know in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.